A FUNNY FOKOF

IMG_7761

This fuckoff is particularly funny to me.

Firstly, because  the word ‘fokof’ in Afrikaans, even though it means the exact equivalent to the English version of ‘fuck off’ is somehow funnier and more benign.

Secondly, the image of an Brandied and Braai-ed out oaf who is too lazy to start a decent conversation and instead sends a feeble fake bunch of flowers with a ‘good morning’, gets told to ‘fokof’ without ceremony, leaves me with an image of a deflating balloon when it makes that funny ‘Phe-w-e-eh’ pinched fart sound. Funny.

Thirdly, I am amused at my own response. It is a two syllable expression, yet every time I hover over the keyboard, I have a slight sense of dread. Fear of backlash from the great Patriarchal Penis in the Sky. And aware of how ‘groupist’ I am.

When I see the person sending it is from another country, it is very easy to say ‘fuck off.’ I guess that is a form of some kind of patriotism. When the person is possibly from my country and my area, it is harder for me to say ‘fuck off’. I guess, I am more nationalist than I thought. And when the person is Afrikaans, I initially hovered a bit more. I guess, a form of racism or groupism or classism that revealed itself to me, surprisingly, in the split second longer it took me to type ‘fokof.’

And then I just did it. And it was funny.

Leave a Reply

